Bangers, Mash and Broken Bells

I’m currently scoping out the fashion on the American Music Award’s red carpet in preparation for work tomorrow, so I’ve decided to post my playlist for this week. But before I get to that, I wanted to share a food first from last weekend.

I’ve always been fascinated by the British, mostly because of their accents and beautiful spawn (Orlando Bloom, David Beckham, Prince Harry, Emma Watson etc.); so I was pleasantly surprised to find out that my dinner destination last Saturday served traditional English fare. A couple of friends and I hit up Broad Ripple Brew Pub. Unfortunately, I had mixed feelings.

We started things off with the beer cheese appetizer. This was awesome, although it’s gotta be pretty hard to screw up cheese and bread. It was tasty nonetheless. My meal, however, was less impressive. I wanted to get a taste of the traditional stuff, so I decided on good old “bangers and mash.” I knew bangers were just sausages, but I guess I expected a special, delicious kind of sausage. That’s not what I got. First of all, I made the mistake of getting a half portion, which meant a teeny tiny sausage (maybe you’ve had that problem, too). But the real disappointment was the link — bland and hardly what the menu had  described. I didn’t notice any yummy breadcrumb filling; it was just lackluster meat. What really got me was how bland and not creamy the mashed potatoes were. Mashed potatoes are so easy, so imagine my frustration with sub-par taters. I’m assuming this barely mediocre meal was the fault of both the English and the cooks at BRBP. Sad day.

Beer Cheese

Bangers and Mash

It was a good thing I went with a trusty German standby for my beverage choice. Heffe weisse has yet to steer me wrong. (The Lawn Mower beer I tried wasn’t my fave. But if you like hopps, go for it.)

Now, for the goodies. Here’s my most recent On Repeat playlist. Leave a comment about your thoughts. Enjoy!

The Ghost Inside – Broken Bells

Miracle Worker – Superheavy

Islands – The xx

99 Problems – Jay Z (throwback!)

World News – Local Natives

Milk and Honey –  Jonas and Plunkett

All Alone – Toro y Moi

Love on Top – Beyonce

>> Couldn’t find Milk and Honey by Jonas and Plunkett on YouTube, so check it out on iTunes <<

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Bangers, Mash and Broken Bells

  1. Erik says:

    I feel the same about the BRBP. It’s just ‘meh.’

Leave a comment