Finger Painting

I recently realized that I have yet to do any sort of post on style. Considering this is my job and a rather significant part of my life, this is unacceptable. So, for my first style post, I figured I’d talk about my obsession: nails.

I’ve been obsessed with nail polish since I was about 6; and because I attended a Catholic school with a strict dress code which forbade nail polish until I was 14, it was a real treat to be allowed to do my nails. These days, I paint my nails once, if not twice, a week; and I love trying new chic colors and designs and scoping out fun tutorials online. Because I’m impatient and wet nail polish is one of the very banes of my existence, I don’t try a lot of the designs that I would like to; but I enjoy admiring them on other people’s fingers!

Here are a few of the things I’ve tried in recent months. Some came out better than others (sorry, these pics are from my phone, which refuses to take an in-focus shot of my hands). Click on the thumbnails to enlarge.

I don’t know where the pic went, but I also tried this newspaper print design. It’s super fun and quick, and I highly recommend it. You can really only do it with a white or nude polish. I tried it with a muted mauve, and it didn’t show up too well. Also, this YouTube channel, cutepolish, is amazing!

I also just discovered these really cool things called Konad nail plates. They are a super easy way to transfer designs to your nails in an endless number of color combos. They are on my Christmas list! Check out the video below if you’re interested in how they work. And my advice is to not use this plastic blue and white pairing. Let’s try to be a little more chic, shall we? ; )

There’s also a lot of neat inspiration on Pinterest. Check out my beauty board for sweet colors and designs.

If you’re a nail ninny like me, share your looks in the comments; and let me know what you think of my attempts or if you have other suggestions!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment